Jon Niermann, *Chairman*Emily Lindley, *Commissioner*Bobby Janecka, *Commissioner*Toby Baker, *Executive Director*



TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Protecting Texas by Reducing and Preventing Pollution

December 7, 2021

Achille Alonzi, Division Administrator Federal Highway Administration, Texas Division 300 E. 8th Street, Rm 826 Austin, Texas 78701

Via Email

Subject: Transportation Conformity Review and Concurrence

Dear Achille Alonzi:

Thank you for the opportunity to review the *Transportation Conformity Report* and supporting documents for the Amended Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and Destino 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) submitted by the El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization (EPMPO). The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) is satisfied that all requirements have been met and transportation conformity has been demonstrated.

The purpose of this conformity analysis was to determine if the EPMPO's amended 2045 MTP and the 2021-2024 TIP are consistent with transportation conformity emissions requirements for the El Paso coarse particulate matter (PM_{10}) National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) nonattainment area and the El Paso carbon monoxide (CO) NAAQS maintenance area. Since the CO NAAQS maintenance area is subject only to a limited maintenance plan, no regional emissions analysis is required for conformity. For the PM_{10} NAAQS nonattainment area, the EPMPO performed a motor vehicle emissions budget test (40 CFR §93.118) comparing projected emissions from the area's transportation system for analysis years 2020, 2030, 2040, and 2045 with the 1991 PM_{10} MVEB, which was adopted as part of the PM_{10} State Implementation Plan for Moderate Area – El Paso and approved for transportation conformity purposes by the United States Environmental Protection Agency effective February 17, 1994. The EPMPO demonstrated that projected emissions were less than the PM_{10} MVEB of 12.05 tons per day.

If you have any questions about our review, please contact Jamie Zech of my staff at 512-239-3935 or jamie.zech@tceq.texas.gov.

Sincerely,

Donna F. Huff, Deputy Director

Air Quality Division

Achille Alonzi Page 2 December 7, 2021

cc: Jose Campos, Federal Highway Administration Guy Donaldson, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Doug Booher, Texas Department of Transportation Jessica Butler, P.E., Texas Department of Transportation Eduardo Calvo, AICP, El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization