TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD APPROVED MEETING MINUTES Of August 21, 2020

Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance:

Mayor, Dee Margo called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:10 am at the El Paso MPO Office, 211 N. Florence, Boardroom Suite 103, and El Paso, TX 79901, conducted telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES	
1. Dee Margo (Chair)	Mayor, City of El Paso	Joseph Cervantes	NM Senator, District 31	
2. Lina Ortega (V-Chair	TX State Representative, 77th District	Esteban Olivas	Alderman, Town Clint	
3. Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Antonio Araujo	Mayor City of San Elizario	
4. Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport	Raymundo Lara	NM State Representative – 34th District	
5. Cissy Lizarraga	City Representative, District 8	César Blanco	TX State Representative – 76th District	
6. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM	Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District	
7. Art Fierro	TX State Representative – 79th District	Jose Rodriguez	TX State Senator	
8. Sam Morgan	City Representative – District 4			
9. Diana Trujillo	Mayor Anthony, NM			
10. Yvette Hernandez	Grant Funded Program Director, COEP			
11. Walter Miller	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon			
12. Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District			
13. Tommy Gonzalez	City Manager, City of El Paso	MPO STAFF		
14. Norma Palacios	Public Works Director, County of El Paso	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney	
15. Henry Rivera	City Representative – District 7	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director	
16. Ricardo Samaniego	Judge, El Paso County	Roger Williams	Assistant Executive Director	
17. Vincent Perez	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3	Gabriela Lopez	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst	
18. Chuck McMahon	Doña Ana County Assist. Manager of Operations	Marisol Enriquez	Admin. Secretary / TPB Recording Secretary	
19. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT – El Paso	Bryan Miskimen	Transportation Financial Analyst	
20. Rene Rodriguez	City of Socorro	Lizeth Peña	Administrative Specialist	
21. Benjamin Romero	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX	Salvador Gonzalez Ayala Transportation Manager		
22. Manuel Leos	Mayor, Village of Vinton	Sonia Perez	Regional Transportation Planner	
23. Trent Doolittle	District Engineer, NMDOT	Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner	
OTHERS PRESENT		OTHERS PRESENT		
Akila Thamizharasa - TX	DOT Jennifer Wright - TXDOT	Raul Ortega - CoEP		VJ Smith
Alex Quintero	Joaquin Rodriguez – El Paso County	Raymond Telles - CRRM	ΛA	Steven Howard
Art Estrada - TXDOT	Jose Landeros – El Paso County	Rossy Cardenas - Dannenbaum		
Blanca Serrano- TXDOT	Jose Reyes – Dannenbaum	S. Harper		
Curtis Morgan - TTI	Kelvin Kroeker – HNTB	Sal Alonzo - CoEP		
David Coronado - CoEP	Linda Mena	Scott White – VELO EL PASO		
Eddie Valtier - TXDOT	Marco Grajeda- NMBT	Sito Negron		
Felipe Dias	Marty Boyd - TXDOT	Sofia Morales – Cesar Blanco Assit		
Genevieve Bales - FHWA	A Nishant Kukadia - TXDOT	Teresa Quesada - CRRMA		
Greg McNicol - UTEP	Noemi Rojas - HNTB	T. Uribe		

(Meeting began with 19 members)

* No Public Comment:

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

- Approve the minutes of the July 17, 2020 Transportation Policy Bard (TPB) meeting. Motion to approve the minutes for the July 17, 2020 Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Representative Henry Rivera. Motion carried unanimously.
- Amend the Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and Destino 2019-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to deprogram Lisa Drive Connectivity Project (LDCP) – PE and Construction Transportation Alternative Program (TAP) project, in FY 2020

Motion to Amend the Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and Destino 2019-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to deprogram Lisa Drive Connectivity Project (LDCP) – PE and Construction Transportation Alternative Program (TAP) project, in FY 2020 made by Representative Lina Ortega and seconded by Representative Cissy Lizarraga. Motion carried unanimously.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION TO APPROVE RECOMMENDATION FROM THE TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE (TPAC) TO:

3. Approve a resolution supporting modifications to the National Highway System (NHS) and Functional Classification System Maps for El Paso TX.

Motion to approve recommendation from the Transportation Project Advisory Committee to approve a resolution supporting modifications to the National Highway System (NHS) and Functional Classification System Maps for El Paso TX made by Representative Henry Rivera and seconded by Representative Lina Ortega. Motion carried unanimously.

4. Adopt Relative Weights for Decision Lens Criteria.

Motion move to postpone made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Representative Cissy Lizarraga. Motion carried unanimously

*Chair Mayor Dee Margo, opened the public comment period. The following members of the public provided public comment: 1. Scott White

* Chair Mayor Dee Margo, closed the public comment period.

REPORTS:

- New Mexico Border Authority Status Report of Activities Status report provided by NMBA – Marco Grajeda.
- Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2020 Project Development Status report provided by EPMPO – Executive Director Eduardo Calvo.
- RMS 2050 Travel Demand Model Status report provided by EPMPO – Salvador Gonzalez-Ayala.

*Chair Mayor Dee Margo, opened the public comment period. The following members of the public provided public comment: 1. Scott White

* Chair Mayor Dee Margo, closed the public comment period.

RMS 2050 MTP Public Feedback Report.
 Status report provided by EPMPO – Gabriela Lopez.

*Chair Mayor Dee Margo, opened the public comment period. The following members of the public provided public comment: 1. Scott White

* Chair Mayor Dee Margo, closed the public comment period.

- TASA Call for Projects (Fiscal Years 2023-2024).
 Status report provided by EPMPO Bryan Miskimen.
- 10. FTA 5310 Call for Projects (Fiscal Years 2021-2022). Status report provided by EPMPO – Gabriela Lopez.
- 11. Public Involvement for the MPO's Amended Public Participation Plan (PPP). Status report provided by TXDOT – Bryan Miskimen.
- 12. Executive Director's Report.
 - a. Update on the Texas-Mexico Border Transportation Master Plan
 - b. Update on the FY 2021 UTP public comment period

Status report provided by EPMPO – Executive Director Eduardo Calvo.

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>September 18, 2020</u> at the El Paso MPO Office located at 211 N. Florence Street, Suite 103 (MPO Boardroom on 1st Floor), El Paso, TX 79901.

*These projects met the seven-day public comment requirement of the EI Paso MPO's Public Participation Plan.

13. Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn at 10:26 a.m. made by Representative Cissy Lizarraga seconded by Representative At Large Rene Rodriguez. Motion carried unanimously.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

The Transportation Policy Board may retire into **EXECUTIVE SESSION** pursuant to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapter D, to discuss any of the following: (The items listed below are matters of the sort routinely discussed in Executive Session, but the Transportation Policy Board may move to Executive Session any of the items on this agenda, consistent with the terms of the Open Meetings Act.) The Transportation Policy Board will return to open session to take any final action and may also, at any time during the meeting, bring forward any of the following items for public discussion, as appropriate. **The TPB did not retire into Executive Session**.

Approved as to content:

rallos

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area