TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD APPROVED MEETING MINUTES

Of December 11, 2020

Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance:

Mayor, Dee Margo called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:30 am at the El Paso MPO Office, 211 N. Florence, Boardroom Suite 103, and El Paso, TX 79901, conducted telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
1. Dee Margo (Chair)	Mayor, City of El Paso	Joseph Cervantes	NM Senator, District 31
2. Lina Ortega (V-Chair)	TX State Representative, 77th District	Esteban Olivas	Alderman, Town Clint
3. Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District
4. César Blanco	TX State Representative – 76th District	Raymundo Lara	NM State Representative – 34th District
5. Cissy Lizarraga	City Representative, District 8	Benjamin Romero	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
6. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM	Diana Trujillo	Mayor Anthony, NM
7. Art Fierro	TX State Representative – 79th District		
8. Sam Morgan	City Representative – District 4		
9. Ricardo Samaniego	Judge, El Paso County		
10. Yvette Hernandez	Grant Funded Program Director, COEP		
11. Walter Miller	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon		
12. Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District		
13. Tommy Gonzalez	City Manager, City of El Paso	MPO STAFF	
14. Norma Palacios	Public Works Director, County of El Paso	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
15. Henry Rivera	City Representative – District 7	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
16. Antonio Araujo	Mayor City of San Elizario	Roger Williams	Assistant Executive Director
17. Carlos Leon	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 1	Gabriela Lopez	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
18. Chuck McMahon	Doña Ana County Assist. Manager of Operations	Marisol Enriquez	Admin. Secretary / TPB Recording Secretary
19. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT – El Paso	Bryan Miskimen	Transportation Financial Analyst
20. Manuel Leos	Mayor, Village of Vinton	Lizeth Peña	Administrative Specialist
21. Trent Doolittle	District Engineer, NMDOT	Salvador Gonzalez Ayala	Transportation Manager
22. Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, EP International Airport	Sonia Perez	Regional Transportation Planner
23. Rene Rodriguez	City of Socorro	Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
24. Jose Rodriguez	TX State Senator		
25.			
OTHERS PRESENT		OTHERS PRESENT	
Art Estrada – TXDOT	Eduardo Perales – TXDOT	Marty Boyd – TXDOT	Thelma Ramirez – TXDOT
Ashley Martinez – Wilson &		Nicholas Ybarra	Richard Dayoub - ELP Chamber of Commerce
Bill Frawley - TTI	Gloria Ramirez – City of Anthony	Karl McElhaney	Mario Juarez-Infante – Wilson & Company
Blanca Serrano – TXDOT	Hector Rangel – City of Sunland Park	Terry Quezada	
Claudia Garcia – Sun Metro	Jennifer Wright – TXDOT	Raul Ortega – COEP	
David Coronado – COEP	Jose Landeros – County of EP	Raymond Telles - CRRMA	
Priscilla Contreras – Rep. Ri		Ybarra Nicholas	
Maya Sanchez – San Elizari	,	Roberto Tinajero – UTEP	
Don Flores - HNTB	Kelvin Kroeker - HNTB	COS	
Eddie Valtier – TXDOT	Michael Martinez – ELP County	Serena Harper	

(Meeting began with 20 members)

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

^{*} No Public Comment: No member of the public signed up for Public Comment.

- Approve the minutes of the November 13, 2020 Transportation Policy Bard (TPB) meeting.
 Motion to approve the minutes for the November 13, 2020 Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting made by Mayor Manuel Leos and seconded by Representative Henry Rivera. Motion passed unanimously.
- Approve the El Paso MPO Title VI Program.
 Motion to approve the El Paso MPO Title VI Program made by Representative Henry Rivera and seconded by Representative Cissy Lizarraga. Motion passed unanimously

DISCUSSION AND ACTION TO APPROVE RECOMMENDATION FROM THE TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE (TPAC) TO:

- 3. Approve prioritized list of projects for the Transportation Alternatives Set Aside (TASA) program from the Fiscal Years (FY) 2023-2024 project call *
 - Motion to approve prioritized list of projects for the Transportation Alternatives Set Aside (TASA) program from the Fiscal Years (FY) 2023-2024 project call * made by Representative At Large Rene Rodriguez and seconded by Representative Lina Ortega. Motion passed unanimously.
- 4. Approve prioritized list of projects for the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) 5310 program from the FY 2020-2021 project call * Motion to approve prioritized list of projects for the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) 5310 program from the FY 2020-2021 project call * made by Representative At Large Rene Rodriguez and seconded by Representative Henry Rivera. Motion passed unanimously.
- Approve December 2020 Project Readiness Report and potential corresponding impacts to the MPO's TIP and MTP.
 Motion to approve December 2020 Project Readiness Report and potential corresponding impacts to the MPO's TIP and MTP made by Representative At Large Rene Rodriguez and seconded by Norma Palacios. Motion passed unanimously

REPORTS:

- Paso del Norte Trail Alignment, A Regional Quality of Life Trail
 Status report provided by City of Sun Land Park NM City Manager Michael Martinez.
- 7. Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2020 Project Development Status Report Status report provided by EPMPO Executive Director Eduardo Calvo.
- RMS 2050 Travel Demand Model Status Report.
 Status report provided by EPMPO Salvador Gonzalez-Ayala.
- 9. Executive Director's Report.

 Status report provided by EPMPO Executive Director Eduardo Calvo.

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>January 22, 2021</u> at the El Paso MPO Office located at 211 N. Florence Street, Suite 103 (MPO Boardroom on 1st Floor), El Paso, TX 79901.

*These projects met the seven-day public comment requirement of the El Paso MPO's Public Participation Plan.

10. Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn at 10:57 a.m. made by Representative At Large Rene Rodriguez seconded by Representative Henry Rivera. Motion carried unanimously.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

The Transportation Policy Board may retire into **EXECUTIVE SESSION** pursuant to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapter D, to discuss any of the following: (The items listed below are matters of the sort routinely discussed in Executive Session, but the Transportation Policy Board may move to Executive Session any of the items on this agenda, consistent with the terms of the Open Meetings Act.) The Transportation Policy Board will return to open session to take any final action and may also, at any time during the meeting, bring forward any of the following items for public discussion, as appropriate.

The TPB did not retire into Executive Session.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the

Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area