# TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD APPROVED MEETING MINUTES

Of June 19, 2020

### Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance:

Commissioner, Vincent Perez called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:10 am at the El Paso MPO Office, 211 N. Florence, Boardroom Suite 103, and El Paso, TX 79901, conducted telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
Vincent Perez (Chair)	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3	Joseph Cervantes	NM Senator, District 31
2. Dee Margo (V-Chair)	Mayor, City of El Paso	Esteban Olivas	Alderman, Town Clint
3. Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District	Antonio Araujo	Mayor City of San Elizario
4. Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Sam Morgan	City Representative – District 4
5. César Blanco	TX State Representative – 76th District	Raymundo Lara	NM State Representative – 34th District
6. Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport	Jose Rodriguez	TX State Senator
7. Cissy Lizarraga	City Representative, District 8	Diana Trujillo	Mayor Anthony, NM
8. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM		
9. Art Fierro	TX State Representative – 79th District		
10. Yvette Hernandez	Grant Funded Program Director, COEP		
11. Walter Miller	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon		
12. Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District		
13. Lina Ortega	TX State Representative, 77th District	MPO STAFF	
14. Tommy Gonzalez	City Manager, City of El Paso	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
15. Norma Palacios	Assistant Public Works Director, County of El Paso	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
16. Henry Rivera	City Representative – District 7	Roger Williams	Assistant Executive Director
17. Ricardo Samaniego	Judge, El Paso County	Gabriela Lopez	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
18. Chuck McMahon	Doña Ana County Assist. Manager of Operations	Marisol Enriquez	Admin. Secretary / TPB Recording Secretar
19. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT – El Paso	Bryan Miskimen	Transportation Financial Analyst
20. Rene Rodriguez	City of Socorro	Lizeth Peña	Administrative Specialist
21. Benjamin Romero	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX	Salvador Gonzalez Ayala	Transportation Manager
22. Manuel Leos	Mayor, Village of Vinton		
23. Trent Doolittle	District Engineer, NMDOT		
OTHERS PRESENT		OTHERS PRESENT	
Blanca Serrano – TXDOT	Teresa Quezada – CRRMA	Rossy Cardenas – Dannenbaum	
Greg McNicol – UTEP	Jennifer Wright – TXDOT	Sito Negron –	
Kelvin Kroeker - HNTB	Jim Harvey – Alliance Transportation	Sofia Morales –	
Art Estrada – TXDOT	Eddie Valtier – TXDOT	David Coronado – City of El Paso	
Campaigner3	Thelma Ramirez – TXDOT	Alejandra Valadez – City of Socorro	
Jason Rodriguez	Giacomo Yaquinto – TXDOT	Jose Reyes	
Lauren Jones	Joaquin Rodriguez - El Paso County		
Raneem Karboji	Jorge Reyes – El Paso County		
Raul Ortega – COEP	Jose Landeros – El Paso County		

(Meeting began with 19 members)

Motion to suspend 3-minute rule made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Commissioner Vincent Perez. Motion carried unanimously.

### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION:**

 Approve the minutes of the May 22, 2020 Transportation Policy Bard (TPB) meeting.
 Motion to approve the minutes for the May 22, 2020 Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting made by Representative Henry Rivera and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion carried unanimously.

<sup>\*</sup>Chair Commissioner Vince Perez, opened the public comment period. The following members of the public provided public comment:

<sup>1.</sup> Blanca Serrano

<sup>\*</sup> Chair Commissioner Vince Perez, closed the public comment period.

# <u>DISCUSSION AND ACTION TO APPROVE RECOMMENDATION FROM THE TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY</u> COMMITTEE (TPAC) TO:

2. June 2020 Project Readiness Report.

Motion to approve recommendation from the Transportation Project Advisory Committee to approve June 2020 Project Readiness Report made by Representative Henry Rivera and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **REPORTS:**

- Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2020 project development
  Status report provided by EPMPO Executive Director Eduardo Calvo.
- RMS 2050 MTP status

Status report provided by EPMPO - Assistant Executive Director Roger Williams.

Delphi Process for the 2050Travel Demand Model (TDM)
 Status report provided by EPMPO – Salvador Gonzalez-Ayala.

2021 Unified Transportation Program (UTP)

Status report provided by EPMPO – Executive Director Eduardo Calvo.

- 7. Executive Director's Report.
  - a. Border Trade Advisory Committee meeting
  - b. El Paso Chamber Leadership El Paso

Status report provided by EPMPO – Executive Director Eduardo Calvo.

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>July 17, 2020</u> at the El Paso MPO Office located at 211 N. Florence Street, Suite 103 (MPO Boardroom on 1st Floor), El Paso, TX 79901.

\*These projects met the seven-day public comment requirement of the El Paso MPO's Public Participation Plan.

Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn at 10:20 a.m. made by Representative Henry Rivera seconded by Representative Mary Gonzalez. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION:**

The Transportation Policy Board may retire into **EXECUTIVE SESSION** pursuant to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapter D, to discuss any of the following: (The items listed below are matters of the sort routinely discussed in Executive Session, but the Transportation Policy Board may move to Executive Session any of the items on this agenda, consistent with the terms of the Open Meetings Act.) The Transportation Policy Board will return to open session to take any final action and may also, at any time during the meeting, bring forward any of the following items for public discussion, as appropriate.

The TPB did not retire into Executive Session.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the

Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area