MEETING OF THE TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR THE TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

APPROVED MINUTES November 6, 2019

The meeting was called to order by Jose Landeros, Vice-Chairman of the Transportation Project Advisory Committee, at 1:36pm, at the El Paso MPO Board Room, 211 N. Florence, 1st Floor, Suite 103, El Paso, TX. Members in attendance were:

| | TPAC Voting Memb | ers Present: | Others Present: | |
|-----|-----------------------------|--------------------------------|------------------|--------------------------|
| 1. | Jose Landeros | El Paso County, Vice-Chair | Sal Alonzo | El Paso County |
| 2. | Marty Boyd | TxDOT | Homer Bernal | NMDOT |
| 3. | Evaristo Cruz | Ysleta Del Sur Pueblo | Arkelao Lopez | S&BI |
| 4. | Raul Escobedo | Mass Transit Board (Sun Metro) | Thelma Ramirez | TXDOT |
| 5. | Yvette Hernandez | City of El Paso | Teresa Quezada | Town of Horizon City |
| 6. | Harold Love | NMDOT | Don Flores | HNTB |
| 7. | Santos Lucero | Village of Vinton | | |
| 8. | Samuel Paz | Doña Ana County, NM | | |
| 9. | Rene Rodriguez | City of Socorro | | |
| 10. | Maya Sanchez | City of San Elizario | | |
| 11. | Gloria Ramirez | City of Anthony, NM | | |
| 12. | Benjamin Romero | Town of Anthony | | |
| 13. | Hector Rangel | City of Sunland Park | | |
| 14. | | | | |
| 15. | | | | |
| 16. | | | MPO Staff: | |
| | TPAC Voting Members Absent: | | Eduardo Calvo | MPO, Executive Director |
| | Greg McNicol | UTEP, Chair | Roger Williams | MPO, Assistant Director |
| | Esteban Olivas | Town of Clint | Lizeth Pena | MPO, Recording Secretary |
| | Michelle Padilla | Horizon City | Marisol Enriquez | MPO |
| | | | Gabriela Lopez | MPO |
| | | | Brian Miskimen | MPO |
| | | | Sonia Perez | MPO |

(Meeting began with 9 members)

No public Comment

DISCUSSION AND ACTION TO:

1. Approve the minutes for the October 2, 2019 Transportation Project Advisory Committee (TPAC) meeting.

Motion to approve the minutes from the October 2, 2019 Transportation Project Advisory Committee (TPAC) meeting made by Raul Escobedo seconded by Gloria Ramirez. Motion carried unanimously.

2. Approve 2020 TPAC meeting dates.

Motion to approve 2020 TPAC meeting dates made by Yvette Hernandez seconded by Benjamin Romero. Motion carried unanimously.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION TO RECOMMEND TO THE TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD (TPB):

3. Congestion Management Process.

Motion made by Rene Rodriguez seconded by Benjamin Romero.

5. El Paso Mobility Plan.

Motion to postpone item to December TPAC Meeting made by Rene Rodriguez seconded by Raul Escobedo. Motion carried unanimously.

- 4. Amend the Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and the Destino 2019-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to:
 - a. Program prioritized list of projects from the New Mexico 2020 Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality

^{*}Vice-Chair Jose Landeros opened meeting for Public Comment.

Minutes – November 6, 2019 Page 2 of 2

(CMAQ) Mandatory Surface Transportation Program (STP) Large Urban Call for Projects.

b. Program prioritized list of projects from the 2020-2022 Transportation Alternative Set-Aside (TASA) Call for Projects.

Motion to approve 4a to program Airport Rd. sidewalk project using \$240,816 of STP exempt and \$101,210 of STP Large Urban in FY 2020; Program South Central Regional Transit District (SCRTD) Bus Acquisition Project using \$903,444 of STP Large Urban, remaining \$466,556 of total project cost will be funded by requesting NMDOT to flex CMAQ to STP made by Rene Rodriguez seconded by Hector Rangel. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion to resend previously recommendation to fund Horizon project FM 1281 (Horizon BLVD. shared Use-Path Pedestrian Lighting) in FY 2021 with roll over funds from FY 2020. Request Ad HOC Committee to make a decision about 2022 TASA funds made by Rene Rodriguez seconded by Raul Escobedo. Motion carried unanimously.

REPORTS:

6. Status on the use of Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) funds transferred to Federal Transit Administration (FTA) for Sun Metro projects.

Status report given by Sun Metro - Director Jay Banasiak.

7. Review of Year End Fund Policy and Preliminary Engineering (PE) Policy, and potential new Transportation Alternative Set-Aside (TASA) Policy.

Status report given by EPMPO - Assistant Executive Director Roger Williams.

8. Fiscal Year (FY) 2021-2024 TIP and Texas Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) development.

Status report given by EPMPO - Assistant Executive Director Roger Williams.

9. Amendment to the Destino 2045 MTP and Transportation Conformity Report.

Status report given by EPMPO - Assistant Executive Director Roger Williams.

10. New Mexico Transportation Alternative Program (TAP) Federal FY 2020 Call for Projects.

Status report given by EPMPO - Gabriela Lopez.

The <u>next regular meeting</u> of the TPAC is scheduled at <u>1:30 p.m.</u> on <u>December 4. 2019</u> or as needed. The due date for submittal of agenda items, names of speakers, attachments, items for presentations, and Project Request Forms (PRFs) are due no later than <u>November 20. 2019 by 3:00p.m.</u>

11. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn meeting at 3:48pm made by Raul Escobedo seconded by Hector Rangel. Motion carried unanimously.

Approved as to content:

Lizeth R. Pena, Recording Secretary for the Transportation Project Advisory Committee