MEETING OF THE TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR THE TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

APPROVED MINUTES

The meeting was called to order by Greg McNicol, Chairman of the Transportation Project Advisory Committee, at 1:30pm, at the El Paso MPO Board Room, 211 N. Florence, 1st Floor, Suite 103, El Paso, TX. Members in attendance were:

October 2, 2019

TPAC Voting Members Present:			Others Present:	
1.	Greg McNicol	UTEP, Chair	Don Flores	HNTB
2.	Jose Landeros	El Paso County, Vice-Chair	Kelvin Kroeker	HNTB
3.	Marty Boyd	TxDOT	Noemi Rojas	HNTB
4.	Evaristo Cruz	Ysleta Del Sur Pueblo	Debbie Hudson	NMDOT
5.	Raul Escobedo	Mass Transit Board (Sun Metro)	Jonathan Dominguez	NMDOT
6.	Yvette Hernandez	City of El Paso	Sal Alonzo	El Paso County
7.	Harold Love	NMDOT	Cassandra Urrutia	Rep. Ortega
8.	Michelle Padilla	Horizon City	Teresa Quezada	Town of Horizon City
9.	Santos Lucero	Village of Vinton	Jose Reyes	Dannenbaum
10.	Samuel Paz	Doña Ana County, NM	Diana Ramos	Rep. Escobar
11.	Rene Rodriguez	City of Socorro	Rossy Cardenas	Dannenbaum
12.	Maya Sanchez	City of San Elizario		
13.	Gloria Ramirez	City of Anthony, NM		
14.	Benjamin Romero	Town of Anthony		
15.				
16.				
17.				
			MPO Staff:	
	TPAC Voting Member	ers Absent:	Eduardo Calvo	MPO, Executive Director
	Hector Rangel	City of Sunland Park	Roger Williams	MPO, Assistant Director
	Esteban Olivas	Town of Clint	Lizeth Pena	MPO, Recording Secretary
			Marisol Enriquez	MPO
			Gabriela Lopez	MPO
			Brian Miskimen	MPO
			Sonia Perez	MPO
			Salvador Gonzalez	MPO
			Claudia Valles	MPO

(Meeting began with 11 members)

No public Comment

DISCUSSION AND ACTION TO:

1. Approve the minutes for the September 4, 2019 Transportation Project Advisory Committee (TPAC) meeting.

Motion to approve the minutes from the September 4, 2019 Transportation Project Advisory Committee (TPAC) meeting made by Rene Rodriguez seconded by Raul Escobedo. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made to move Items #3 & #4 before item #2 by Jose Landeros seconded by Rene Rodriguez. Motion carried unanimously.

- 3. El Paso Mobility Plan v. 2019 Draft List of Projects.

 Status report given by Eduardo Calvo, MPO Executive Director.
- 4. Amendment to the Destino 2045 MTP and Transportation Conformity Report. **Status report given by Eduardo Calvo, MPO Executive Director.**

^{*}Chair Greg McNicol opened meeting for Public Comment.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION TO RECOMMEND TO THE TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD (TPB):

- 2. Amend the Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) & Destino 2019-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to
- a) Program \$12M of Coordinated Border Infrastructure (CBI) funds on project(s), in Fiscal Year (FY) 2020.

 Motion made by Marty Boyd seconded by Benjamin Romero. Motion passed 13 to 1. Vote against by Michelle Padilla.
 - Reprogram/Amend projects using Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) funds in FY 2020, 2021 and 2022
 - 1. Reprogram Montana Rapid Transit System (RTS) 1st year operating assistance from FY 2020 to FY 2029 (Sun Metro)
 - 2. Amend Montana RTS 2nd year operating assistance in FY 2021 to become 1st year of operating assistance (Sun Metro)
 - 3. Amend Montana RTS 3rd year operating assistance in FY 2022 to become2nd year of operating assistance (Sun Metro)
 - 4. Reprogram Intersection Operational Improvements at Montana Ave./Paisano Dr. from FY 2020 to FY 2029 (TXDOT)
 - 5. Amend scope of work to identify location and limits for Bicycle Infrastructure Citywide in FY 2021 (COEP)
 - 6. Amend scope of work to identify location and limits for Downtown Bicycle Improvements Phase I in FY 2022 (COEP)
 - 7. Reprogram Stanton Two-Way Cycle Track Roadway Improvements from FY 2020 to FY 2029 (COEP)

Motion made by Marty Boyd seconded by Michelle Padilla. Motion carried unanimously.

- c) Reprogram Spur 601 at Loop 375 Direct Connectors from FY 2020 to FY 2030 Motion made by Rene Rodriguez seconded by Benjamin Romero. Motion carried unanimously.
- d) Program Loop 375 Interchange (At Sgt. Major) in FY 2020.

 Motion made by Michelle Padilla seconded by Benjamin Romero. Motion carried unanimously.
- e) Program Prioritized lists of projects from the 2020-2022 Transportation Alternatives Set-Aside (TASA) call for projects. **Motion carried separately.**

Motion to approve Program Prioritized lists of projects from 2020 Transportation Alternatives Set-Aside (TASA) call for projects in FY 2020, No projects submitted, no action taken.

Motion to approve Transportation Alternatives Set-Aside (TASA) call for projects fuds in FY 2021 for the City of El Paso's (COEP) Playa Drain Whitter Dr. to Elvin Way Shared Use-Path Project and Horizon project FM 1281 (Horizon BLVD. Shared Use Path Pedestrian Lighting will be funded contingent on reconciliation of funds made by Rene Rodriguez seconded by Michelle Padilla. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion to table Program Prioritized lists of projects from 2022 Transportation Alternatives Set-Aside (TASA) call for projects in FY 2022 made by Rene Rodriguez seconded by Benjamin Romero. Motion carried unanimously.

REPORTS:

5. Public Involvement for the El Paso MPO's Congestion Management Process.

Report given by EPMPO, Sonia Lopez.

6. Training and absences of members for MPO committees.

Report Given by EPMPO, Marisol Enriquez.

The <u>next regular meeting</u> of the TPAC is scheduled at <u>1:30 p.m.</u> on <u>November 6, 2019</u> or as needed. The due date for submittal of agenda items, names of speakers, attachments, items for presentations, and Project Request Forms (PRFs) are due no later than <u>October 23, 2019 by 3:00p.m.</u>

7. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn meeting at 3:09pm made by Rene Rodriguez seconded by Jose Landeros. Motion carried unanimously.

Approved as to content:

Lizeth R. Pena, Recording Secretary for the Transportation Project Advisory Committee